“Keeping Your Video Editing Projects Organized” by Aaron Williams

April 7, 2015

By Aaron Williams, Premiumbeat

Keeping a project clean and organized is essential. Spend less time searching for assets and more time editing. In this post, we share organization tips and a free project file.

If you’re going to call yourself a professional, you should work like a professional. An insanely disorganized project is a nightmare, and ultimately reflects poorly upon you as en editor. We bring in freelancers pretty regularly at my office and if I’m given the choice to bring back a great editor who leaves a disaster of files and other mess in their wake or  a slightly less great editor who keeps things in order and under control you can bet I’ll choose the organized one every time. He or she makes it easier for me to quickly pick up the project for later revisions if necessary.

In this post, I want to share a structure for  how I like to organize my video editing projects. This is an empty skeleton that I use as a basis for all projects, then fill-in as needed:

Blank Bin TemplateHere’s how I use these bins, including the thinking behind them… (click here for the rest)

Leave a Reply

