Find Unused Media in Final Cut Pro

by Larry Jordan

Have you ever wanted to find a shot you haven’t used yet? Yeah, happens to me all the time. Fortunately, Final Cut Pro makes it easy.

Here’s how to either find the media you are using, or find the media you are NOT using.

Let’s start by displaying all the media we are currently USING in our project. To keep this simple, I’m illustrating a timeline containing three shots from a total Browser list of five shots. (Yes, I know, no project is this tiny, but it keeps my screen shots small…)

In this example, my media is stored in two events:

  • Water
  • Mountains

NOTE: In the screen shot above, I selected two events: Mountains & Water. Notice how the Browser then groups all the clips by event.

FIND USED MEDIA

To get started, open the project containing the media you want to search into the Timeline. [Read on…]

Find Larry Jordan’s free tutorials, here.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.